Angola Joins OPEC

On December 14, the OPEC announced that Angola would become its newest member effective on January 1, 2007. Angola would be the second country from sub-Saharan Africa and the first new member since Nigeria joined in 1971. Ecuador and Gabon joined OPEC in 1973 and 1975, but left the organization in 1992 and 1994, respectively. The 11 current members are: Algeria; Indonesia; Iran; Iraq; Kuwait; Libya; Nigeria; Qatar; Saudi Arabia; the United Arab Emirates; and Venezuela.

everything OPEC at theoildrum and general motors

[thanks to mr. crumbles, i enjoyed the links on this one]


Post to Twitter Post to Facebook

Posted: December 21st, 2006
at 2:37pm by Koookiecrumbles

Categories: politricks

Comments: No comments


Leave a Reply